Superstars TV Returns!

Cult 70s TV show Superstars is to return to British screens with an Olympic special. Athletes who medalled at London 2012 will take part in the BBC1 Christmas special of the programme.

Confirmed to be taking part are Mo Farah, Katherine Grainger, Jade Jones and it will also have triathlete brothers Alistair and Jonathan Brownlee racing against each other one again.

First devised by American figure skater Dick Button, Superstars became a hit UK TV show when it first aired in December 1973, presented by David Vine. David Hemery won the first UK title, beating a field that included Bobby Moore, Joe Bugner and Tony Jacklin.

The competitors will tackle eight events: track races over 100m and 800m, archery, javelin, a 50m swim, a kayak race, a cycling hill climb and the challenges in the gym tests.

In the original there were some classic moments: in a cycling heat Kevin Keegan had a dramatic crash, hurdler Hemery injured his ankle after a tumble in the steeplechase, and after squash player Jonah Barrington squat thrusts failed to meet the judges’ approval, he stormed out.

The full list of competitors is:

• Alistair Brownlee – gold, triathlon
• Jonathan Brownlee – bronze, triathlon
• Mo Farah – double gold, track 5,000m and 10,000m
• Robbie Grabarz – bronze, high jump
• Michael Jamieson – silver, 200m breast stroke
• Anthony Joshua – gold, boxing (super heavyweight)
• Andrew Triggs Hodge – gold, rowing (coxless four)
• Peter Wilson – gold, shooting (double trap)

• Nicola Adams – gold, boxing
• Lizzie Armitstead – silver, cycling (road race)
• Laura Bechtolsheimer – gold and bronze, dressage
• Gemma Gibbons – silver, judo
• Helen Glover – gold, rowing (coxless pair)
• Katherine Grainger – gold, rowing (double sculls)
• Jade Jones – gold, taekwondo
• Christine Ohuruogu – silver, track 400m